Introducing Your Student Senators Council Site Ambassador

The Student Senators Council at NYU has selected a group of your peers studying away in the spring of 2017 as student representatives who will work to improve student life across NYU’s Global Network University. Known as your Site Ambassadors, they will act as a general liaison between students at your site and global programs initiatives in Abu Dhabi, New York, or Shanghai.

Without further ado, we would like to introduce Lily Li.

“Hello! I’m Lily Li and I will be the site ambassador for NYU Prague this upcoming spring semester. I’m a Sophomore in Media, Culture and Communications and a commuter from the wonderful borough of Queens! As a commuter, I experience NYU as an educational space but I have yet to experience it as a home base. Being able to emerge into a new campus and take an active part in creating this environment for myself and others is especially thrilling for me and is the motivating factor behind my goals as site ambassador. I hope to create experiences that help all of us embrace unfamiliarities, overcome moments of unease and venture out of our comfort zones. I hope to help create events that are fun, interactive and uplifting for every student. I hope to utilize new, innovative strategies to draw out students consistently. I hope to minimize and eradicate that space between student and faculty by becoming the uniting fixture between the two and be able to establish this connection of trust between a peer and myself. I will take every concern seriously and never invalidate any health or safety issue, no matter how seemingly small. These concerns are magnified when you are displaced from home and I hope to provide the necessary comfort and strength to my peers to work together to conquer issues sometimes bigger than ourselves. I will provide information to services, resources and programs and be an approachable partner every step of the way. I hope to turn any moment of anxiety into an opportunity for productive discussion and problem solving with the help of site faculty and the Site Ambassador Committee.”

 

Leave a Reply

