Meet NYU Prague Global Mentor, Robert!

Throughout the semester, you will have the opportunity to hear from NYU Prague alumni to gain their firsthand insight and tips.

Today, meet Robert, who studied in Prague in Spring 2016.

img_9868Major: Media, Culture, and Communication

What is your favorite memory about your time abroad? I think my favorite memory would have to be watching the sunset at Park Güell in Barcelona during spring break. My friends and I could not come to a consensus as to where we wanted to go while on break, so I went on a solo trip to Barcelona, Mallorca, Rome, and Florence. It was an awesome time and I think if possible, everyone should travel alone while abroad.

What was the most interesting course you took and why? Advertising and Society with Salim Murad is by far one of the most interesting courses I have ever taken. The course examines and compares advertising in the Czech Republic and the United States and the prevailing social, cultural, and political norms that dictate what is and what is not appropriate in each culture. Professor Murad facilitated phenomenal discussion and it was an incredible way to learn more about Czech history and culture.

Name two things you should not have packed. I should not have packed so many shoes!!! I was really only able to wear boots because it was so cold. I had about 3 pairs of sneaks that I most definitely did not need.

What two things do you wish you had packed? I wish I would have packed cough medicine. I got sick within the first few weeks there and I, of course, did not speak Czech, and even after Googling Czech cough medicines, I was still to nervous to go to the pharmacy and ask for it.

What advice would you give about housing? My only advice would be to live in Osadni because Holesovice is so beautiful and diverse. It is also much quieter than Vinohrady, so if you’re looking to decompress and get away from the busiest parts of the city, it’s an awesome place to live.

What do you miss most?miss sitting in Letna Park, going to cafes on rainy days, Hip-Hop night at Radost, and the entire staff at NYU Prague – everyone was so amazing and treated us so well and they honestly were one of my favorite parts of the experience.

If you could go back in time and do one thing differently, what would it be? I honestly don’t think I would do anything differently. Everything was so magical.

One good way to get to know locals is: A lot of the younger Czechs are super friendly so sometimes you meet people in the most random places.

If there’s one thing students should know about the Prague, it is: Prague is filled with so many hidden gems, be it parks, beautiful neighborhoods, or scenic overlooks. One of the best things about the city is getting lost in it and discovering everything it has to offer.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

